Fully Funded UK Online Master’s Degree Scholarships 2021

Level of Study: Masters Degree

Subject of Study: Any eligible online masters course at a UK university

Deadline: 26 April 2021

Start-Date: 2021-2022

Value: Tuition fees and study grants if required


Description: Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are offered for skilled and talented individuals to pursue online UK Masters degree. The purpose of this scholarship is to provide training for skilled and qualified professionals in key development areas and thereby contributing to development needs of Commonwealth countries. The Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are funded by the FCDO (Foreign Commonwealth Development Office) and are offered to citizens of some developing commonwealth countries.

Number of Awards: Not Specified

Duration of the Scholarship: For the selected candidates who wish to pursue online masters degree at UK university, this scholarship covers tuition fees and study grants where required.

Value of the Scholarship: Scholarship covers tuition fees and study grants where required. Other scholarships, awards, or bursaries that cover the same costs may not be held concurrently.

Benefits:  Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are offered to talented and qualified individuals who are unable to study in UK universities due to financial and other reasons. The scholarship benefits eligible students who wish to access training not available in their home countries, who wish or need to remain in their home country while they study, and who have the potential to enhance the development of their home countries with the knowledge and leadership skills they achieve.


Eligibility Requirements:

To be eligible to apply for the scholarship, the candidate must

  1. Be a citizen of, or be granted refugee status in, an eligible developing Commonwealth country mentioned above, or be a British Protected Person;
  2. Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country.
  3. Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases.
  4. Hold an offer from UK university to study selected masters course in the 2021-2022 academic year.

How to apply:

Eligible Commonwealth Developing Countries:

Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini, The Gambia, Ghana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.

  1. You must secure admission into eligible masters course by UK university that is participating in the Distance Learning scheme.
  2. Only the applications made via e CSC’s online application system are accepted.
  3. Please check with your chosen university for their specific advice on when to apply, admission requirements, and rules for applying.
  4. Submit your scholarship application before 26 April 2021 and required supporting documents before the second deadline 10 May 2021.

Assessment Process:

Each participating UK University will conduct its own recruitment process. Universities must put forward their selected candidates for Distance Learning Scholarships to the CSC by 4th June 2021.

The CSC will then confirm that these candidates meet the eligibility criteria for this scheme and universities will inform candidates of their results by July 2021.

Selection criteria includes:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country


You can contact CSC by completing the email form provided here.


Visit the official CSC scholarship website to know detailed information on the commonwealth distance learning scholarships. 

It is important to read the Terms and Conditions before submitting your scholarship application online.


Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are for skilled and motivated from least developed and lower middle income Commonwealth countries, to study part-time Master’s course by distance learning on selected eligible courses offered by UK universities. These scholarships, funded by Foreign Commonwealth Development Office provide an opportunity to talented individuals to study online masters degree from their home country. Nearly 1,000 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships have been awarded to date.

If you are considering studying abroad why don’t you discuss your prospects and opportunities with experts at Lurnable’s dedicated study abroad counselling division LurnPathways?

Back to top